Job Hunting: More Work Than a Job

I have been applying for jobs, writing cover letters, copying and pasting my skills, redoing my LinkedIn account because my work email it was linked to was deactivated…and I feel like I’m seeing stars! Hopefully, I’m hearing from potential employers!

Looking for a job has become vastly different than the last time I hunted; I remember I drove from place to place picking up applications, which I then took back home and filled out by hand, after which I redistributed said applications to the appropriate work place. Yes, this was even more work, but the thing about it was that it felt more human. To me, sitting behind a computer and typing why I would be awesome in person is sort of strange, ironic, even. The internet resume and application process has taken out the personal aspect to customer service. I feel very disconnected.

So here I am, blogging about sitting behind my computer, sitting behind my computer! Well, if anyone has any words of experience or advice, ideas besides Indeed, LinkedIn, Manpower, and Monster, let me know!

Leave a Reply

